Please Spay or Neuter Your Pet!

If anyone reading this is old enough to remember, Bob Barker of the Price Is Right used to always end the broadcast with “Help control the pet population, have your pets spayed or neutered.”  For the longest time I didn’t think much of it until I started to do my research and found out just how NOT spaying or neutering tends to create overcrowding issues with shelters, as well as health issues for our fur babies.

Reading that cats that are not spayed can have litters of eight kittens every 2-3 months is alarming.  The fact that so many shelters are still kill shelters, it saddens me that so many people just don’t take the time to spay their cats and make sure that they cannot reproduce.  We are to blame as we are adding to the overpopulation issue.

Yes the cost is expensive upfront, but it is again, preventative.  Cats that are not fixed tend to have more health issues and are more susceptible to mammary cancer.  To think that we can prevent that if we take our pet to get spayed.  I cannot imagine being irresponsible and allowing my pet to run the risk of a shorter life and get ill.  Cancer is no joke and it is devastating to watch a pet die of this horrible disease.  The vet bills to treat a pet with cancer can be astronomical compared to the one time cost to spay your cat.

If money is an issue, there are no excuses anymore.  The ASPCA has a search function to find a low cost spay/neuter program near you.  If there isn’t a program close to you, there is another site you can post on, where you post your story, and someone or a group can sponsor you.  Get your fix is the site to check out.  It has tons of information for you to find a place for your pet.

If you are still on the fence about getting your pet fixed, here is a great little article for reasons to get your pet fixed.

Many shelters will not allow a pet to be adopted until they are spayed or neutered.  Both my fur babies had to be spayed before they were allowed to leave the shelter.  Luckily Isis already was spayed and Sasha was spayed before taking her home.  I have had pets that I had to take to get spayed/neutered, and before they had their operation, they were quite high strung and not overly loving.  After they were fixed and healed, they became quite the little love bugs and became lap cats/dogs.  I have always loved my pets being more on the sweet and loving and slightly dependent side.  I find that after my babies end up getting used to my home and knowing that they are not going to be hurt or abandoned, their personality comes out and they are such sweet, loving, and happy pets.  I am thankful as well and proud that I am not contributing to the overpopulation issue and I am glad that I am helping to prevent them from getting mammary cancer.

All of you out there who have spayed or neutered your pets, be proud, you are helping them and being responsible pet parents.  If your pets are not spayed, why not?  Please take the time to think about your pet’s health, their happiness, and the betterment of the earth by not contributing to the overpopulation.  Overpopulation leads to overcrowding at shelters, and also leads to animals needlessly being put down.  It’s not fair to do that to your pet.  Please please spay or neuter, it is worth it in more ways than one.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Health, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

