Recipe Friday

Well it’s Friday and it’s recipe day.  Yes you can make your dog and cat some homemade treats.  Making treats at home ensures you know what the ingredients are and the treats are usually healthier than the ones you buy from the store.

First up are pumpkin bones for dogs.  They are very natural and there aren’t many ingredients in these.  Sasha LOVES these so I have to be careful how many I give her.  I try not to give her more than one or two a day, but she has to work for them.  I make sure she does a few tricks and I break the bone up into several pieces beforehand.

Recipe for Pumpkin Dog Biscuits.

Notice, for those with dogs with allergies, they offer alternative flours to use for gluten intolerance.  Sasha does have a slight allergy to gluten, so to make sure, I use the gluten free recipe.

If you want to buy a dog bone cookie cutter, you can buy different sizes here.  I like having different sizes so that I can make some for our doggie friends that are smaller and some that are larger.  It’s nice to have variety.  If you don’t like those cutters, you can Google them, just type in “dog bone cookie cutter”.  All different types and sizes and prices.

 

Now on to the kitty recipe.

Liver Cookies-yes it sounds gross, but my picky cat, Isis goes nutso for these.   Make sure not to feed too many of these daily.  Also, some of these recipes take tweaking and don’t always turn out perfectly the first time, don’t give up and don’t worry, it will get better!

Liver Cookies-now if your cat has allergies, wheat germ can be an allergen.  You can leave it out of the recipe, or you can substitute ground flax seed (but not too much, if I use it, I will only use 1/4 cup).  You can also try rice flour as well.   When you make them, they should come out the consistency of fudge.

I’m sure that your pets will enjoy treats made by you.  I may start doing weekly recipes every Friday.  Also, these can make great stocking stuffer presents if you want to give your pets presents for Christmas or Kwanzaa, or Hanukkah.

Have fun, experiment and enjoy!  Your pet won’t care if they are perfect.  You’ll get many headbutts and purrs, or kisses and licks for all your efforts!

 

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

