Weekly Trick – Peekaboo Dog

A few people e-mailed me and wanted to know if I had information about learning tricks other than the standard sit, stay, rollover, paw, etc.  So I thought I would do a weekly post about teaching an out of the ordinary trick.

This trick is called Peekaboo.  It’s fairly basic for your dog to learn and they should pick it up quickly IF they already know the basic commands like “sit” and “come”.

First teach the dog to go through your legs from the front to the back and then from the back to the front, when they sit down between your legs while you are standing up, give them a treat.  When they first start out, and they go from the front to the back or vice versa, give them a small treat each time.

Once they move from the back to the front and front to back and sit consistently, they are just about there.  Have them sit between your legs while you are standing up and say “Peekaboo” about four times and treat them every single time after you say it.  Make sure they also are looking up at you so that they are aware of what you want them to do.

Then have your dog walk between your legs and say “Peekaboo”.  They should sit between your legs and peek out, thus the trick is “Peekaboo”.

I have a video that shows the trick because I am really horrible at explaining how to do something.  This is NOT ME in the video.  She is a dog trainer.  The video is very easy to understand and shows how the trick should work.  I hope you enjoy.

Each week I will have a new trick until I can’t think of any unique or different tricks.

In the coming weeks, I am going to talk about how to clicker train a dog and how you can actually clicker train a cat to do tricks as well.  Yes, it is possible!

If you have comments, questions or concerns, you can leave a comment here, or do what others are doing and e-mail me.  My e-mail is furbabiesfurever at yahoo.com , just replace the word “at” with the @ symbol.  I spell out my address so that I don’t get a ton of spam in my inbox.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend and again, thanks for the e-mails and the compliments!  They make my day! 🙂

 

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on November 26, 2011, in Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

