What a Scare! Toxic Plants for Dogs and Cats

The other day my good friend bought me an Aloe plant.  It is a wonderful healing plant for almost any kind of ailment whether skin wise or internally (great for those with stomach issues, pancreatitis, ulcers, etc).  I have digestive issues and drink the aloe juice to help heal my stomach.

I had the plant for a few days, Isis kind of checked it out but I would always shoo her away from it.

Well one night while we were sleeping, someone chewed and left holes in the plant branches…ahem.

I didn’t think anything of it at first and then, Isis wasn’t acting like her usual self.  Then the vomiting started…all over the house.  Soon after came diarrhea, and a change in her urine.

The last straw was when she started to tremor, slightly. It was time to get to the vet, fast.

I then was told that Aloe can be very dangerous for cats.  I know many plants are toxic to cats but I had NO idea something that is so healing to humans can be so lethal to animals.  I felt absolutely horrible, like I was a horrible pet parent.  I cried and cried.

Isis had fluids pumped back into her and was kept at the vet’s for 24 hours to make sure she was back on the mend.

Luckily she made it through with flying colors and is a happy cat once again.  My vet gave me a link to the ASPCA page which tells you which plants are toxic to not only cats, but dogs and horses as well.

There are just so many out there to watch out for.  Please, if you have plants in your house, make sure your pets are not around something that could potentially kill them.

Some symptoms of a poisoning that are common among most cases are: vomiting, diarrhea, listlessness, depression, change in urine.  If your pet exhibits any of these symptoms, you can call ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center at 888-426-4435.  There may be a $65 charge for consultation.  Otherwise, call your emergency vet and get it checked out immediately.  Time is of the essence in these cases.

I have learned my lesson, I do not keep plants in my house just to be on the safe side.  I am not taking any chances.  My furbabies are like kids to me and I cannot take a chance of something horrible happening to either one.  I have forgiven myself for what happened with Isis, but I will never forget it.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Antics, Health, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

