Cats Displaying Affection

As we all know, cats are usually more subtle when showing you they love you, whereas dogs will all out usually kiss your face, wag their tail, etc.  How do we know that a cat has affection or even loves us?  There are a few ways that we know of.

Eye blinks – If your cat greets you with soft, slow eye blinks and you blink slow back, your cat is saying that they are glad you’re there.  I love waking up in the morning to Isis and her slow eye blinks as she stretches to wake up for the day.

Head Butts – If your cat comes up to you and lowers their head and pushes against you with their forehead, they are showing you affection.  This is usually accompanied by purrs and more head butts.  Sometimes people say that cats are claiming ownership of you when they do this, and that they are scent marking you.

Following you around – As you walk around your house, you may notice you have a little “shadow” following you from room to room.  This is your cat’s way of saying that they think you are interesting, are glad you are there and want to see what crazy things us humans will get into next.

For more ways your cat shows you affection, here is an article with more information.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love to show my human affection with eye blinks, and some of my other feline sisters love to head butt our human! Thanks for helping to spread the word about how we communicate!

    • You’re very welcome! Head butts and eye blinks are my favorite. I always have to give Isis a kiss on the head after getting those, she’s just too sweet and I bet you are as well! 😉

  2. My cats follow me from room to room…only when they want to be fed.

    But Moosh Moosh got his name from “smushing” his face into ours, which he does any time he can, so I guess he really does ❤ me. Yay!

  3. My cat tries to head butt, but is always off. He ends up rubbing his head against nothing and then acting like he just did me a favor. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

