Recipe Friday – Tasty Breakfast Chicken and Cheese Doggie Biscuits

Want a great treat for your dogs for the weekend?  Try out these biscuits that are sure to make for some lip smacking, tail banging good times!

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of Bisquick (they now have a gluten free version if your dog has a gluten allergy)
  • 1 Cup Pre-cooked chopped chicken
  • 1 Cup Low fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2 Cups Water

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine all ingredients in medium sized bowl (Mixing dough for approximately  3 minutes will ensure all ingredients were mixed well.)  Dough will be sticky.

3. Form dough into balls and place onto well greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

4. Remove and cool on a cooling rack. Once cool, place in an airtight container and store in fridge for up to two weeks.

5. Depending on the size of the balls you make (smaller size for smaller dogs, larger size for larger dogs), these can make 1-3 dozen treats.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on June 15, 2012, in Food, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Do you think it would work if I substituted the chicken with something else? Both the boys have food allergies and chicken doesn’t work so well for them.

    • Yes it would. 🙂 I am not sure what meat your boys can eat, but I have tried it with salmon, shredded pork, and chopped up beef (all the same amount, 1 cup), and the pork and beef worked best. I think the salmon was a bit too moist for this recipe. I hope that helps!

      • Thank you so much for the help! I think salmon would be the best for them, or some other kind of fish. I will have to give it a try very soon! Thanks for posting this, I love to have new snack ideas for them.

      • You’re welcome 🙂 I would be careful using tuna, the amount of mercury in it can at times be harmful. Mackerel is another good fish to use. Good luck!

  2. Jereme's Kitchen

    I hope to try this — One of my puppies has a birthday next weekend!

Leave a Reply

