Cats and Constipation

Many of our furbabies have experienced bouts of constipation, but if these are not just bouts and actually continue for long periods of time, there may be something more serious going on.

Some diseases such as Irritable Bowel Syndrome, Mega Colon, food allergies and others will produce periods of time of constipation.  The only way to know if your cat is suffering from one of these diseases is to make an appointment with the vet.  One thing to do is to keep a food/treat diary and an exercise diary before going in as this will help the vet narrow down what the issue may be.

When we first adopted Isis, she was being fed basically junk food in the shelter (Meow Mix and Friskies). These are not healthy foods for cats.  So when we changed her food very gradually, she started to get constipated on what her diet should be (mainly protein).  So what we did was add about a teaspoon of canned pumpkin (NOT pie filling but 100% pumpkin), to her food.  This helped quite a bit and she was back to normal.  What we sometimes do now is add about a half teaspoon of olive oil to her wet food and some canned pumpkin just to make sure she is regular and able to produce minimal waste.  It also aids in reducing hairballs.

At times she was quite constipated, and after seeing the vet and ruling out any kind of disease, I came up with my own solution.  I used to wait until after Isis ate and then have her come over to me on the floor.  I would then have her stand on all fours in front of me and I would massage her belly in gentle, circular motions.  I would do this several times per day, until it seemed that she was going on a regular basis.  I slowly tapered off from doing that until I was down to once per day, then after a week I stopped doing it.  I haven’t had to do it since and that has been about seven months ago.  I hope I never have to do that again.  It is because our cats are so used to the processed junk that they have been fed in a shelter, their bodies do not know how to digest and handle their natural diet.

Another thing to consider is playtime, playtime, playtime.  This gets the cat’s intestines working and helps them to produce waste. Having several short play sessions every day helps not only with constipation, but with weight management.

It is always best to check with your vet before doing anything with your cat, they may want to do procedures, depending how long it has been since your cat defecated.

This article explains what to do if your cat is constipated and how to help make your cat comfortable when they are constipated.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Health, Tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pardon the inner child in me, but I can’t ever get past “mega colon” without giggling.

Leave a Reply

