Sunscreen for Dogs?!?

Yes it’s true.  There is a veterinarian from Florida who has developed a special sunscreen for your furry friend.

If you are like me, I like to take Sasha for long walks/jogs daily.  I try not to go when the sun is at it warmest point, but there are times that no matter when, the sun is out and it will be hot.

Michael Fleck is a veterinarian and esthetician who has developed a product line called Epi-Pet, which is not only sunscreen, but also sprays for skin rashes, and soothing creams for dog noses.  His products are F.D.A compliant, which makes them one of the only products out there that adhere to those guidelines for animals.

The products should not be used on cats.  Do not use regular human sunscreen on dogs, as the ingredients (mainly PABA but others as well) are harmful and potentially fatal to dogs.

What made me take notice to this product is that cancer seems to be high on the list of illnesses that kill the most dogs each year.  I know it is difficult to prevent any form of cancer, but if I can help even a smidgen, I am going to do all that I can to make sure that I am trying to prevent skin cancer on Sasha.

To read more information on why sunscreen is so important to dogs, here is an article that explains things more in depth.

If you are looking to buy Epi-Pet, Amazon has some for sale.

About furbabiesfurever

Just a furmom taking care of "less" adoptables-a dog and cat that are black, always adopting and not shopping. Love many activities,my oscar fish, animals, shopping, friends, family, life, my husband and of course my fur babies.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Health, Product Review, Tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

